Outstanding alumni honoured with recent awards

University of Adelaide Distinguished alumni award winners

Dr John Beard
Bachelor of Medicine and Bachelor of Surgery (1979). In recognition of his dedication to the field of healthy ageing, including guiding many countries on their policy responses to population ageing.

Ms Moya Dodd
Bachelor of Laws (Honours) (1988). In recognition of her service to women’s football, as a player and a fierce advocate for change to benefit the sport.

Mr Simon Hackett
Bachelor of Science (Mathematical Science) (1987). In recognition of his contribution to advancing the IT industry, including involvement in bringing the internet to Australia in the late ’80s, and through his company Internode, launching Australia’s first ADSL2+ broadband service.

The Hon. Margaret Nyland AM
Bachelor of Laws (1964). In recognition of her service to law, as a lawyer, judge, justice and commissioner, including leading the Royal Commission into child protection in South Australia (2014-2016).

Ms Léonie Ebert
Bachelor of Science (1968). In recognition of Ms Ebert’s dedication to education, advocacy for women and Aboriginal education, and support of social justice.

Dr Anthony Lake AM
Bachelor of Dental Surgery (1970). In recognition of Dr Lake’s service to the dental industry, including his involvement in Disaster Victim Identification (DVI) for state, national and international incidents.

Mr John Crosby
Roseworthy Diploma in Agriculture (1971). In recognition of his advocacy for farmers and the Australian farming industry.

2017 James McWha Award of Excellence recipient 

Ms Annabel Crabb
Bachelor of Arts and Bachelor of Laws (1997). In recognition of excellence in her career as a political journalist, author and media personality, and being an outstanding role model for other graduates.

2017 Tirkapena Indigenous Alumni Award 

Dr Kali Hayward
Bachelor of Medicine and Bachelor of Surgery (2005). In recognition of her achievements in Indigenous medicine through which she has become a leader in the community.

Find out more about our recipients and their stories.

2018 Australia Day Honours

Companion of the Order of Australia (AC)
• Professor Rhys Jones AC
• Mr Trevor McDougall AC

Officer of the order of Australia (AO)
• Professor David Coventry AO
• Ms Christine Ronalds AO SC
• Prof Cert Arbitration
• Professor John Turnidge AO

Member of the Order of Australia (AM)
• Mr George Allingame AM
• Adjunct Professor Christopher Eckermann AM
• Professor Charlotte de Crespigny AM
• Professor Sharad Kumar AM
• Dr John O’Donnell AM
• Dr Jennifer Rosevear AM
• Mr Brian Spencer AM
• Professor Grant Townsend AM
• Mr Kelvin Trimper AM
• Professor Robert Vink AM

Photo of Marilyn Seidel

Marilyn Seidel, 2017 Volunteer of the Year with one of the students she assisted through the University’s Talking with Aussies program

Medal of the Order of Australia (OAM) 
• Mr Colin Campbell OAM
• Dr Richard Cockington OAM
• Ms Barbara Deed OAM
• Mr Ian Fraser OAM
• Dr Andrew Luck OAM
• Dr Julie Monis-Ivett OAM
• Mr Victor Patrick OAM
• Mr Rhys Roberts OAM
• Ms Beth Serle OAM

Australian Police Medal
• Dr Keryl Howie APM

Photo of Eva Hornung

Eva Hornung
Photo by Noni Martin

University Volunteer of the Year
Marilyn Seidel was awarded Volunteer on the Year 2017 for her contribution to the Hughes Bequest Program and Committee, which has resulted in more scholarships to disadvantaged students. Marilyn and husband, Ron, have been volunteers with the University for over 10 years across programs including the Dental Patient and Talking with Aussies Programs, which support student learning endeavours at University.

2018 Adelaide Festival Awards for Literature
Eva Hornung (Master of Arts, 1991, PhD, 1997) has won two 2018 Adelaide Festival Awards for Literature. Eva has received both the Premier’s Award ($25,000) and the Fiction Award ($15,000) for her novel, The Last Garden.


This entry was posted in lumen, Winter 2018 and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.