Congratulations to the team for winning the Mainstreet SA Student Encouragement Award 2012!

Mainstreet SA aims to reinforce their vision through recognising that our Mainstreets are ‘Living Spaces’ giving us, their ‘custodians’, a sense of meaning, reminding us of our past and inspiring us for our future. By promoting our mainstreets as the beating heart of our communities we will reinforce that most important, quintessential quality of ‘Place’.

Planning Masters students, divided into four groups led by sessional staff member Natalya Boujenko researched and prepared four Main Street evaluations for Jetty Road, Glenelg; Magill Road, Norwood; Woodville Road, Woodville and Unley Road.

The ‘Unley Road’ Team of Rebecca Millar, Katie Steinwedel, Justine Aldersey and Zhe Wei won the Student Encouragement Award for the best Main Street student project.  David West, Chairman Mainstreet SA said the Committee were delighted to be able to make an award for such outstanding student work which had been added, along with the three other student project entries, to the data base of Main Street, SA. The overall best project award was to the group who achieved the highest grade for assessment of frontage uses, frontage activation, movement assessment and understanding the wider strategic context.

Course Coordinator, Dr Susan Shannon stated that as streets are seen as the basic units for urban planning – get the streets right and much else follows. Thus we devote a lot of attention to teaching the principles and evaluation techniques for streets, and providing proto-professional opportunities for students to become involved with evaluating streets.

The course Urban Design Principles was structured to contextualise the development of professional terminology, research skills, knowledge and understanding within two proto-professional projects, with the first, the evaluation of a metropolitan Adelaide Main Street and the another, an evaluation of Hamley Bridge to provide an urban design direction for the town.  The Course staff, Dr Susan Shannon, Rick Atkinson and Natalya Boujenko were also awarded the Executive Dean’s Prize for Excellence in Postgraduate Teaching earlier in the year.

Mainstreet SA 2012 awards
L to R: James Butterworth, Natalya Boujenko, Reb Rowe, Rebecca Millar, Katie Steinwedel, Chelsea Salagaras, Dr Susan Shannon(Course Coordinator), Leo Tan, Jiahan Zhao and Kori Zhang

This entry was posted in News, Research and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.