Brian Castro Wins 2014 Patrick White Literary Award

Professor Brian Castro has been awarded the 2014 Patrick White Literary Award.

White created the award with the money he received as winner of the Nobel Prize for Literature in 1973 to acknowledge writers who have made a significant contribution to Australian literature. White stipulated his prize should be presented on the Friday after the Melbourne Cup to turn attention from sport to literature. Accordingly, Brian Castro received the award in Sydney last Friday for his “outstanding contribution to Australian literature, his continued willingness to take imaginative risks and be ‘blackly playful’, and his evident potential to produce more significant work”.

Other winners have included Christina Stead (1974), Gwen Harwood (1978), Randolph Stow (1979), Thea Astley (1989), Thomas Shapcott (2000) and Louis Nowra (2013).

This entry was posted in Awards & Achievements, News and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.