American Association of Petroleum Geologists (AAPG) Imperial Barrel Award

The Australian School of Petroleum (ASP) Imperial Barrel Award (IBM) Team of David Kulikowski, Nachiketa (Sunny) Mishira, Stephanie Tyiasning, Alexander Robson and Kunakorn Pokalai, organised by Stephanie Tyiasning and coached by Faculty Advisor Dennis Cooke, won the American Association of Petroleum Geologists (AAPG) Asia Pacific Regions’s IBA competition! The IBA is a highly competitive annual “prospective basin evaluation” competition for graduate students from universities around the world. University teams compete to win scholarship funds for their department and for the international recognition that comes from competing or winning such a competition.

This was the first year that Australian universities competed in the IBA. By winning the Regional competition, the ASP team progressed to the finals, which were held at the AAPG Annual Meeting in Houston in April (all expenses for the trip were covered by AAPG). Unforturnatly, the competition in Houston was extremely tough and our team progessed no further. However, the entire team agreed that the experience was amazing and would recommend continued ASP participation in future years!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.