3MT Faculty Finals


The 3 Minute Thesis (3MT) Faculty Final took place on Friday 17 August in the Horace Lamb Lecture Theatre, where six PhD students from ECMS explained their thesis projects in just three minutes, using only one PowerPoint slide. All participants delivered outstanding and well prepared presentations, engaging the whole audience. This year’s participants included:

  • Menasha Thilakaratne, School of Computer Science
  • Xin Yuan (Vernon), School of Electronic and Electrical Engineering
  • Gai Dat Phan, School of Civil, Environment and Mining Engineering
  • Caitlin Gray, School of Mathematical Sciences
  • Carman Yeung, School of Civil, Environment and Mining Engineering
  • Michael Crisp, School of Civil, Environment and Mining Engineering

Following the presentations, three prizes were distributed, including the Ron Seidel 3MT People’s Choice Prize (voted by the audience) and two Faculty Finalist Prizes (elected by the judges). Congratulations to Xin Yuan (Vernon) for winning the People’s Choice Prize and to Gai Dat Phan and Caitlin Gray, who were elected as Faculty Finalists. Gai Dat and Caitlin will now go on to compete at the Three Minute Thesis (3MT) University Final, taking place on 11 September 2018. Register now for this event to support our very talented 3MT Finalists.

A heartfelt thanks goes to Julie Mayo and Lisa Staines from the Research Development team and Dr Michael Leonard from the School of Civil, Environmental & Mining Engineering, who were instrumental in ensuring the students had access to several training sessions to polish their presentations and slides. A special thanks also goes to Sarah Kennett and Wee-Ching Kong from the Marketing, Engagement and Recruitment team who delivered a successful, well-attended event.

This entry was posted in Competitions, Events, Latest News and Achievements and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.