The Pollard Prize in Economic History


This prize was established by the University by a donation from Professor Jonathan Pincus who originally established the prize while at Flinders University for the best student in Economic History called ‘The E. Pollard Prize in Economic History’.

As the Discipline of Economic History was abolished at Flinders University, Dr Ralph Shlomowitz of Flinders arranged to pay the residual capital sum of $2,790.49 to the University of Adelaide.  This sum is now used for a similar prize at the University of Adelaide.

The purpose of the prize is to encourage undergraduate students to excellence in economic history.

This is a part endowed prize with the capital held in the University’s Endowment Fund[1] and the income distribution each year used to fund part of the prize.  The balance of the prize value is paid by annual donation from the donor.

The following rules now apply:-

  1. The prize shall be known as the ‘E. Pollard Prize in Economic History’.
  2. The annual value shall be $500, consisting of:-
    • $150 from the annual income distribution from the Endowment Fund (or such larger amount as will not exceed the annual income distribution from the Endowment Fund); and
    • $350 paid annually by the donor.
  3. The prize shall be awarded to the student attaining the best result in International Economic History, providing the Head of School considers the candidate to be of sufficient merit.
  4. Where two or more candidates are of equal merit, the prize shall be shared equally.
  5. The University may vary the rules from time to time in a manner consistent with the University’s legal obligations and policies.

 2017 winner:  Benjamin Pascoe-Purvis


Benjamin Pascoe-Purvis with Prof. Jonathan Pincus

2016 winner: Lauren Slinger

2016 Prize Award Ceremony 005

Lauren Slinger with Professor Jonathan Pincus.

This entry was posted in Prizes. Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.