The NJ Thomson Memorial Prize


This Prize has been established by a contribution to the University by subscriptions from the family and friends of the late Associate Professor Norm Thomson, a member of the academic staff of the University from 1971 until his death in 1994, to establish a prize in his memory.

The following rules now apply:-

  1. The prize will be known as “The N.J. Thomson Memorial Prize”.
  2. The annual value of the prize is $750.00 paid directly to the student, or such other amount as the University shall from time to time determine provided that the value of the prize does not exceed the annual distribution of interest available from the Endowment Fund.
  3. One prize will be awarded annually by the University to a student enrolled in the degree of Bachelor of Economics, Bachelor of Economics (Advanced) or Honours degree of Bachelor of Economics with the highest mark in a Level III or IV Public Economics or Level III or IV Public Finance course.
  4. If there is more than one candidate of equal merit, then the prize will be shared.
  5. If there is no candidate of sufficient merit in a given year then the prize will not be awarded in that year and the value of the prize for that year may be used in subsequent years.
  6. Unspent income shall be added to the capital sum from time to time so as to allow the continued growth of the fund.
  7. The prize will not be awarded where:
    1. a student has provided false or misleading information with regard to their personal details;
    2. a student is guilty of serious misconduct in terms of the University Policy Rules for Student Conduct in the University.
  8. The University may vary the rules from time to time in a manner consistent with the University’s legal obligations and policies.

 2018 winner: Laura Bills




Laura Bills with Mrs Rosemary Thomson

2017 winner:  Nicholas Smyth

Nicholas Smyth with Mrs Rosemary Thomson

2016 Winner:  Timothy Hersey


This entry was posted in Prizes and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.