A. Ebrahimi, Miniaturised-elements frequency selective surfaces for microwave and terahertz applications,18th February 2016.



Frequency selective surfaces (FSSs) are usually formed by two-dimensional periodic arrangement of metallic elements on a dielectric substrate. Based on the geometry and arrangement of the metallic unit cell, the array might show different functionalities such as bandpass or bandstop spatial filter. The FSS functionality is mainly determined by its unit cell geometry and dimension. In terms of the unit cell properties, the FSSs can be divided into two major subclasses as: (i) Traditional FSSs based on resonant element unit cells, (ii) miniaturised elements FSSs based on non-resonant unit cells.

In this talk, we will present our recent research results on the design of high-performance FSSs based on miniaturised elements. The miniaturised element FSSs are considered for tunable microwave FSSs. The application of the miniaturised elements in designing a second-order bandpass terahertz FSS will also be presented and discussed.



Amir Ebrahimi received the B.Sc. degree in electrical and computer engineering from the University of Mazandaran, Iran, in 2008, and the M.Sc. degree in electronic engineering with first class honours from Babol University of Technology, Babol, Iran. From2009 to 2012, hewas a research assistant in Integrated Circuits Research Laboratory (ICRL), Babol University of Technology. In 2012, he started his PhD degree in the School of Electrical & Electronic Engineering, The University of Adelaide. During 2014–2015, he was a visiting scholar in the School of Electrical & Electronic Engineering, Nanyang Technological University (NTU), Singapore.

During his candidature, Mr Ebrahimi received a number of awards and scholarships including, the International Postgraduate Research Scholarship (IPRS) by the Australian Government (2012), Australian Postgraduate Award (APA) (2012), Australian National Fabrication Facility (ANFF) award for fabricating high performance microwave microfluidic sensors in collaboration with the Ian Wark Research Institute, University of South Australia (2013), the University of Adelaide D. R. Stranks Traveling Fellowship (2014), the Simon Rockliff Scholarship for outstanding postgraduate mentorship from DSTO (2015), and the Yarman-Carlin best student paper award at the Mediterranean Microwave Symposium, Lecce, Italy (2015). Mr Ebrahimi has served as a reviewer for a number of recognised journals including IEEE Microwave and Wireless Components Letter, IEEE Sensors Journal, Applied Physics Letters, and Journal of Applied Physics.





date and time Thursday, 18th February, 2016

S111 Engineering Sth
(Where’s this?)

This entry was posted in Seminars and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.