EI Members win 2011 Asia-Pacific Spatial Excellence Award – Environmental Sustainability

The 2011 Asia-Pacific Spatial Excellence Award for Environmental Sustainability was recently given to Environment Institute members Ken Clarke, Megan Lewis and Bertram Ostendorf, together with Anna Dutkiewicz and Giles Forward of the Department of Environment and Natural Resources (DENR) for their satellite remote sensing tool for monitoring soil erosion risk. This international peer-recognition is in addition to recent State recognition with the Environmental Sustainability South Australian Spatial Excellence Award for the same project.

This ARC Linkage Project was the culmination of more than eight years of fruitful collaboration with DENR. From inception and pilot through to a tool ready for operational use, this collaboration has greatly benefited both partners. The Landscape Science group looks forward to continuing this relationship with DENR.

Once again, State and international industry recognition highlight that the University of Adelaide Landscape Science group is capable of producing outstanding practical applications of remote sensing tailored to industry needs. In conjunction with an already strong academic performance, this places the University of Adelaide Landscape Science group as the top spatial sciences group in Australia.

This entry was posted in News and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.