Media release: $3.1 million for nine new industry-linked projects

The University of Adelaide today has been awarded $3.1 million for new research projects working with industry, community and government in areas including cycling safety, flood risk, improved smelting efficiencies and new heat-tolerant wheat varieties.

Nine new research projects have been awarded funding under the Australian Research Council (ARC)’s Linkage Projects scheme. The Linkage Projects aim to promote collaborative partnerships that encourage the transfer of skills, knowledge and ideas to help secure commercial and other benefits of research.

In addition to the $3.1 million, the projects will receive a further $5 million in cash and in-kind contributions from the collaborative partners.

University of Adelaide Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research) Professor Mike Brooks said the new Linkage Projects will deliver significant benefit for the state.

“As a leading research-intensive university we know that to truly have impact in our wider community and successfully tackle the challenges our society faces, we need to work much more closely with industry and community organisations,” Professor Brooks said.

“Today’s funding announcement will help build partnerships that will benefit not just the partner organisations but all of us.”

The successful grants are:
• $180,745 awarded to a team led by Dr Jennifer Bonham (School of Social Sciences) to study the education and training required by drivers to interact safely with cyclists;
• $290,132 awarded to a team led by Professor Andrew Beer (Centre of Housing, Urban and Regional Planning, School of Social Sciences) to investigate trends in the relationship between local government and housing supply and demand;
• $338,000 to a team led by Professor Mark Carroll (Elder Conservatorium of Music) to study the impact of World War 1 on performing arts in urban and regional South Australia;
• $156,905 to a team led by Dr Seth Westra (School of Civil, Environmental and Mining Engineering) to develop a unified approach to quantifying flood risk;
• $184,000 to a team led by Dr Murat Karakus (School of Civil, Environmental and Mining Engineering) to find ways to predict rock burst in deep mines;
• $323,779 to a team led by Professor Pavel Bedrikovetski (Australian School of Petroleum) to develop new nanoparticle technologies to significantly increase gas production from shale and coal seam gas fields;
• $430,000 to a team led by Associate Professor Heike Ebendorff-Heidepriem (Institute for Photonics and Advanced Sensing, School of Physical Sciences) to enhance sensor technology to enable measurements inside industrial furnaces for improved efficiencies;
• $517,000 to a team led by Dr Ute Baumann (Australian Centre for Plant Functional Genomics) to improve selection and development of heat-tolerant wheat varieties;
• $645,000 to a team led by Professor Gus Nathan (Centre for Energy Technology, Institute for Mineral and Energy Resources) to help progress commercial-scale production of biocrude from microalgae or biosolids.

This entry was posted in Grants, Media Release, WRC and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.