Giving Indigenous students the chance to shine

Building numbers of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander law students and helping them succeed in their studies has won national recognition for a University of Adelaide academic.

University of Adelaide Law School Senior Lecturer Dr Matthew Stubbs is one of four University of Adelaide staff to receive a $10,000 award from the Office for Learning and Teaching (OLT) for outstanding contributions to student learning.

Dr Stubbs has been recognised for his proactive pastoral care and inclusive academic support of the University’s Indigenous law students. He has also developed new entry pathways into Law and raised awareness about legal study among Indigenous communities.

“Legal education offers Indigenous students the opportunity to make a real difference in their communities,” says Dr Stubbs. “I feel really privileged to work with these fantastic students and help them develop the skills to become successful legal professionals and the next generation of Aboriginal leaders.

“By their first day of University, I usually know all the new Aboriginal or Torres Strait Islander students and am ready to help them in any way I can throughout their University life. I want to make sure that each and every one of them has the opportunity to shine in the University of Adelaide’s Law School.”

The OLT citations are awarded annually to individuals and teams who have made a significant contribution to the quality of student learning over a sustained period.

“This national award reinforces the University of Adelaide’s commitment to Indigenous education and widening access,” says Dean of Law Professor John Williams. “Matthew’s dedication and personal effort have made a tremendous contribution to Indigenous education in the Law School and enhancing the achievement of our students.”

Others awarded for their outstanding contributions to student learning were:

Dr Kerry Wilkinson, School of Agriculture, Food and Wine, for innovative assessment and learning support that fosters excitement for discovery and inspires wine science students to engage with research and industry practice;

Ms Akiko Tomita, School of Social Sciences, for fostering lifelong learning skills and personal growth in language courses by develoing innovative approaches that engage authentic interaction and reflection with real-life opportunities; and

Dr Mario Ricci, School of Medical Sciences, for sustained development of engaging, student-centric teaching approaches that inspire and motivate student learning in first-year human biology.

This entry was posted in Events, News and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.