Adelaide Scholars Contribute to Inquiry into Constitutional Recognition for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Peoples

The Public Law and Policy Research Unit (PLPRU) at the University of Adelaide has made a submission to the Joint Select Committee on Constitutional Recognition of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Peoples.

The PLPRU Submission (which is available from the Committee’s website) was authored by Dr Gabrielle Appleby, Dr Rebecca LaForgia, Professor Geoffrey Lindell AM, Associate Professor Alex Reilly and Dr Matthew Stubbs and supported by Associate Professor Paul Babie, Dr Judith Bannister, Margaret Castles, Dr Laura Grenfell, Stacey Henderson, Associate Professor Anne Hewitt, Cornelia Koch, Professor Rosemary Owens AO, Associate Professor Dale Stephens CSM, Professor Andrew Stewart, Professor Deborah Turnbull, Dr Alex Wawryk and Professor John Williams.

Addressing the range of possible options for constitutional amendment to recognise Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Australians, the submission argues in favour of the removal of s 25 of the Australian Constitution, the removal of s 51(xxvi) and its replacement with a new legislative power, to be inserted in its own Chapter, to make laws with respect to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples. The submission advocates insertion of an express guarantee against racial discrimination, and the extension of this provision to the States also.

This entry was posted in Government & Citizenship, Research and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.