Australian Academy of Technological Sciences & Engineering (ATSE): Clunies Ross Awards 2016

The ATSE Clunies Ross Awards (CRA) recognise the contributions by dedicated individuals to the application of technology for the benefit of Australia.

The Awards are offered across three categories:

Clunies Ross Entrepreneur of the Year Award

For those who have been responsible for the creation of a product or service with a financially successful outcome, in either an early stage or mature company environment, with demonstrated impact for Australia.

Clunies Ross Knowledge Commercialisation Award

For those who have been responsible for a technology which has been commercialised most likely by licensing with a financially successful outcome.

Clunies Ross Innovation Award

For those who have been responsible for the adoption of a technology, at a stage where the financial outcomes are yet to be realised and/or the benefits are of a measurable broad community nature.


Characteristics of a successful awardee include:

  • A Person who has made an identifiably significant contribution to the advancement of industry and/or the community through the application of science and technology for the economic, social and environmental benefit of Australia;
  • A Person who is able to demonstrate the impact or potential impact of the technological based innovation; and
  • A Person who has advanced the promotion of innovators and community awareness of technological innovation.


A Clunies Ross Award is an individual, rather than a corporate, award. Where the nominee believes the award should be shared by a number of people, usually no more than three, she/he must fully justify this belief, including demonstrating why the contribution could not have been achieved without each of the nominees being associated for the majority of the total time involved.

Applications are submitted directly to the Sponsor by 30 October 2015.

Further Information

This entry was posted in Awards & Prizes, Engineering, Computer & Mathematical Sciences, Funding by Award Type, Sciences. Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.