Australian Academy of Science (AAS): Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC) Science Prize for Innovation, Research and Education (ASPIRE) 2017

The Australian Academy of Science invites applications from Australian researchers for the APEC Science Prize for Innovation, Research and Education (ASIPIRE) award for 2017.

The ASPIRE prize is an annual award which recognises young scientists who have demonstrated a commitment to both excellence in scientific research, as evidenced by scholarly publication, and cooperation with scientists from other APEC member economies as demonstrated by the impact to APEC economies through market-led innovation.

The theme for this year is ‘New Material Technologies’ and disciplines under this theme include materials and biomaterials science, polymer chemistry, chemical and mechanical engineering, solid-state physics, nanotechnology and other relevant fields.

Funding & Duration

The top three Australian ranked applicants from this competition will receive a prize of $2,000 (AUD) each. The highest-ranked applicant will become the Australian nominee for the ASPIRE Prize.

The nominees from each APEC member economy will then be considered by the full APEC Policy Partnership for Science, Technology, and Innovation working group for selection as the 2017 ASPIRE Prize winner, with prize money in the amount of USD $25,000 (equivalent to AUD $32,000 – $34,000).


Each institution may only submit two applications on behalf of Early Career Researchers (ECR).

ECR’s must:

  • be under the age of 40 as at 31 December 2017
  • be an Australian citizen or an Australian permanent resident who is a citizen of an APEC member economy, living in Australia at the time of submitting the grant application (if the ECR was not born in Australia, please provide proof of Australian citizenship or Australian permanent residency)

Submission Requirements

Applications must be submitted directly to the Sponsor by 20 February 2017

Further Information

This entry was posted in Awards & Prizes, Engineering, Computer & Mathematical Sciences, Funding by Award Type, Sciences. Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.