Department of Communications and the Arts: Prime Minister’s Literary Awards 2018

Prime Minister’s Literary Awards provide acknowledgement and prizes to the authors and illustrators that have published the best works of Australian literature each year. The Prime Minister’s Prize for Australian History recognises outstanding work that contributes significantly to an understanding of Australian history.

Awards will be presented in six categories:

  • fiction
  • non-fiction
  • young adult literature
  • children’s literature
  • poetry
  • Australian history


The entry must be published or produced in the English language.

Books must have been made available for general sale in Australia between 1 January 2017 and 31 December 2017 and be available to the general public via more than one distribution outlet.

Works may be entered by publishers, literary agents, authors, producers, or broadcasters.

People or organisations entering a work on behalf of an author or producer are assumed to be submitting the entry with the consent of the author or producer.

Value of the Award

Up to $100,000 will be awarded in each category: $80,000 for the winning entry and $5,000 each for a maximum of four shortlisted entries.

Submission Requirements & Due Date

Applications are submitted directly to the Sponsor by 9 May 2019

If you decide to apply for any of these prizes or awards, please contact Dale Godfrey.

Prior to submission please ensure that your University of Adelaide Researcher Profile page is up to date.

Further Information

This entry was posted in Arts, Awards & Prizes, Funding by Award Type. Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.