Australian Centre (University of Melbourne): Kate Challis RAKA Award (Ruth Adeney Koori Award) 2018

This award for Indigenous creative artists has been made available through the generosity of Professor Emeritus Bernard Smith, eminent art and cultural historian. The prize was established to honour the memory of his late wife, Kate Challis, who was known in her youth as Ruth Adeney (RAKA is an acronym for the Ruth Adeney Koori Award).

The Kate Challis RAKA Award is offered annually to encourage Indigenous creative artists to undertake literary works, paintings, sculptures, craftwork, plays and musical compositions, and to assist in advancing the recognition of Aboriginal achievements in these areas. It is awarded in a five-year cycle with a different area of the arts – creative prose, drama, the visual arts, scriptwriting and poetry – being awarded each year.

The area of creative arts for 2018 is: the best painting, sculpture or craft-work in any medium or style by an artist who has held an exhibition in the preceding five years.


The applicant must be an Aboriginal or Torres Strait Islander author/artist. The art must have been exhibited between January 2013 and January 2018.

Value of the Award

A cash prize of $20,000 will be awarded.

Submission Requirements & Due Date

Applications are submitted directly to the Sponsor by 24 September 2018

If you decide to apply for this award, please contact Dale Godfrey.

Prior to submission please ensure that your University of Adelaide Researcher Profile page is up to date.

Further Information

This entry was posted in Arts, Awards & Prizes, Funding by Award Type. Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.