Congratulations to our students and researchers!

Some congratulations are in order for a number of the University’s students and researchers, who have recently received some great accolades!

2019 South Australian Tall Poppy Science Awards

Four University of Adelaide researchers have won 2019 South Australian Tall Poppy Science Awards. The winners (pictured clockwise from top left) and their respective research fields are Dr Daniel King: Psychology, Behavioural Addictions; Dr Giang Nguyen: Mathematics, Applied Probability; Dr Danny Wilson: Malaria Biology, Parasitology; and Dr Nigel Rogasch: Neuroscience. The awards recognise achievement in the sciences and help to communicate the passion and purpose of Australia’s finest scientists.


Meat judging awardsFifteen Animal and Veterinary Sciences students entered the 2019 Intercollegiate Meat Judging competition with over 150 Australian and international university students. Kate Werfel was Individual Champion and University of Adelaide was the runner-up team. Kate Werfel, Kate Krause and Emma Peters were all placed in the top 11 and will compete for a place on the Australian team. Farrah Preston won the Coaching Excellence award.


Dr Aaron PereiraDr Aaron Pereira (School of Electrical & Electronic Engineering) has won a 2019 Australian American Association (AAA) Sir Keith Murdoch Fellowship to spend a year at NASA’s Jet Propulsion Labs (JPL) to collaborate on the design of advanced integrated circuits for space applications.


This entry was posted in Ask Adelaide. Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.