University of Adelaide Three Minute Thesis Final

Congratulations to USC Old Scholar Noby Leong (2006), who won the People’s Choice Award for The University of Adelaide’s Three Minute Thesis Final on Tuesday 10th September 2013.


What is the Three Minute Thesis? 

University of Adelaide thesis project explained in just three minutes, using only one PowerPoint slide? That’s the challenge ten of the University of Adelaide’s research students had to tackle in the national 3 Minute Thesis (3MT) competition.

The ability to effectively communicate research impact is a skill that all of the University of Adelaide’s researchers must develop.

Dr Paul Willis, Director of the Royal Institution of Australia (RiAus) hosted the evening, and presentations were judged by a panel of experts in research and presentation. The panel selected the winner to go on to compete in the national 3MT final in Sydney. The audience voted for the People’s Choice Award.

Finalists were:

Alexander Cameron (Surgery)
Deborah Furst (Freshwater Ecology)
Erin Zimmerman (Politics and International Studies)
Joy Talukdar (Education)
Kaitlin Harkess (Psychology)
Konrad Pilch (Pure Mathematics)
Masoumeh Zargar (Chemical Engineering)
Melanie Walters (Music)
Noby Leong (Chemistry)
Renae Leverenz (Law)

This entry was posted in Achievements, Local News, News, USCOSA and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.