Outstanding alumni receive top awards

Seven outstanding University of Adelaide graduates have been recognised for their significant contributions to their professions and communities with Distinguished Alumni Awards.

Among the winners are an outstanding public health researcher, the Chief Executive of South Australia’s Department for Trade and Investment, South Australia’s Chief Public Health Officer, Kenya’s Chief Administrative Secretary for its Ministry for Health, a wildlife conservation biologist, a leader in theoretical physics and the only female upper-limb surgeon in South Australia.

The University of Adelaide’s Distinguished Alumni Awards, now in its 30th year, recognise alumni who have excelled in their fields, and through their outstanding accomplishments, improved the lives of others.

The awards are given across four categories – the Distinguished Alumni Award for outstanding and sustained contributions, the Tirkapena Indigenous Award for positive outcomes for Indigenous communities, the James McWha Rising Star Award for those making a significant contribution as emerging leaders, and, for the first time, the Distinguished International Alumni Award for international graduates who excel in their chosen field.

The awards were presented at a ceremony at the National Wine Centre on Thursday night, 10 November.

David Reynolds PSM, Tiahni Adamson, Professor Nicola Spurrier PSM and Professor John McNeil AO were among those honoured at the University of Adelaide Distinguished Alumni Awards on Thursday night. Absent: Dr Mercy Mwangangi, Professor Phiala Shanahan and Dr Angela Alder-Price. Photo: University of Adelaide

Distinguished Alumni Award winners:

Professor John McNeil AO, is a tenured public health researcher with specialist training in epidemiology and clinical pharmacology. His contributions to medical research have changed the way we think about chronic disease, preventative health and healthcare quality.

David Reynolds PSM, has dedicated his career to South Australia’s prosperity and wellbeing. Mr Reynolds is the Chief Executive of the Government of South Australia’s Department for Trade and Investment, and received a Public Sector Medal in the 2022 Queen’s Birthday Honours list for his commitment to South Australia’s financial and economic outcomes.

Professor Nicola Spurrier PSM, is a staunch advocate for preventing illness and promoting health across the whole of community. A dual qualified medical specialist, public health physician and paediatrician, Professor Spurrier was instrumental in South Australia’s response to the COVID-19 pandemic as the state’s Chief Public Health Officer.

Distinguished International Alumni Award winner:

Dr Mercy Mwangangi, is a medical practitioner, health economist and policy analyst who fundamentally believes in the crucial role public health plays in Kenya’s economic and social development. Dr Mwangani is the Chief Administrative Secretary of Kenya’s Ministry for Health, and became the face of the nation’s COVID-19 pandemic response at just 32 years old.

Tirkapena Indigenous Award winner:

Tiahni Adamson, a Torres Strait Islander woman descended from the Kauareg Nations of Thursday Island, is a passionate wildlife conservation biologist. Ms Adamson is focused on sustainable aquaculture production as the Lead Community Engagement Officer at CH4Global. Ms Adamson is a former student in Professor Bronwyn Gillanders lab.

James McWha Rising Star Award winners:

Professor Phiala Shanahan, has made a significant contribution to physics, as the youngest Professor of Physics at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) at the age of 27. She has become a leader in theoretical physics and is a passionate educator.

Dr Angela Alder-Price, is an orthopaedic researcher, senior lecturer and the only female upper-limb surgeon in South Australia. Her dual pursuit of surgery and science is driven by a passion for improving patient outcomes.

Original story in the Unviersity of Adelaide Newsroom

This entry was posted in Awards, Marine Biology Program, MBP, School of Biological Sciences and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.